Finding Your Own Paths

By Jeanne McLaughlin

Finding our own paths has always been important, however never more so than now, IMO.  I believe that faith and spirituality are what’s going to get us thru these trying times, and if you don’t have those… well, good luck! The criteria for finding one’s own path hasn’t changed, fortunately, just the importance of doing it now.  

My best advice is remain open to new ideas, learn as much as you can about practices or spiritual beliefs that you respond to, question things freely – especially spiritual leaders (if they can’t take questions, personally, I’d run!!), and most of all be willing to rethink your beliefs from time to time.

Me, I was raised Christian, changed to Witch/Wicca at age 47; 4 years later, Shaman felt more comfortable, and these days I go by Medicine Woman.  All are interchangeable to me – what’s important at the end of the day *to me* is the four directions and the five elements.  I care about Mother Earth and hold her sacred. I am passionate about supporting animal rights. I adore Nature in all forms – these things I have in common with most Pagans.  Yet I don’t do rituals or spells, I’ve never belonged to a coven or group, and I don’t really give a damn what others do.  I simply hope we all get along. The one thing I can say without question, is “Yes, Virginia, there *is* a Santa Claus” – and “Yes, you can bet your ass that magic exists in many glorious and wondrous forms.  Never ever doubt that.  Find it in your own ways, whatever resonates with you.  And, don’t ever let anyone tell you magic doesn’t exist.  They’re simply wrong”.

Leave a comment