Artio


Original illustration by Kevin Lyon


Artist Statement:

I am attracted to the largest, most basic feelings, experiences, and struggles that unite us.  Humans have been representing our shared experience through artworks and legends since those became things.  My art is an attempt to relate these concepts in an approachable way – to invoke a specific feeling.  I do this by leaning heavily on commonly accepted icons as well as Celtic knotwork which lends itself to abstract, repeating, and interwoven ideas and hints at a historical context for what my artwork is attempting to convey. 

Looking forward, it is my goal to further explore these ideas, possibly creating a series of mixed media watercolors relating concepts if they should come up as I continue my exploration of the human experience as represented by artworks and stories throughout time.


Kevin Lyon is a visual artist specializing in Celtic art based in Medical Springs Oregon.  In 2011 he created an engraving business – LyonCraft Engraving to market his art.  He obtained a Bachelor of Science from Western Oregon University in 2013, where his studies focused on painting, sculpture, and art history.  He draws on historical and contemporary influences to relate timeless human experiences through his art.

Leave a comment