Reflections In An Autumn Pond

by Wendy Wilson

Inspired by a haiku by Basho: 

Won’t you come see loneliness?
Just one leaf left 
from the kiri tree.


Artist Statement

I am an older artist from Central New Jersey who has been crafting art using symbols drawn from the natural world and from traditional symbols and ideas. I try to transmit to the viewer the underlying meaning of those symbols and of our experiences in the natural world. I have a passion for vivid colors and use color to add significance to the work. I create my art using digital tools. I do not use AI, but draw using software and a mouse. The resulting drawing is printed twice – on cotton and on translucent silk organza. I layer the organza over the cotton and fasten it to a stretcher. This gives it a slightly 3D, shimmering look.

Leave a comment